Austria: Vorarlberg and Austrian Tyrol

Austria borders all of eastern Switzerland, from Lake Constance to the Lower Engadine, with the small Principality of Liechtenstein sandwiched between the two countries.

The bordering region covers two Bundesländer, Vorarlberg, bathed by the lake and the Rhine, and the Austrian Tyrol, a picturesque Alpine region whose south is part of Italy.

During our spring 2022 "Switzerland Tour Outside Switzerland" (of which you can discover the route on this page), we went through Austria from Germany to Italy.

Unfortunately, we only shot a few panoramas. In spring, the weather is unstable, rainy, and it was the off-season in many of the places we visited. We hurried to Italy, promising ourselves to return in a better season!
Discovering Austria

The Pictorial Guides
© 1988-2023
All rights reserved for all countries